Eric's Networking

How To Turn Sharing On or Off with Windows 8


If you connect to different networks, choosing a network location can ensure that your computer is always using the appropriate security level. There are three network location types: Public, Private (Home and Work), and Domain. This settings formally known as network location, is now called network sharing with Windows 8. The first time you connect a network, you will be asked to turn on sharing between PCs and connect to a network such as devices. This automatically sets the appropriate firewall and security settings for the type of network that you connect to.

More Information

To change a network location type, follow these steps:

  1. From the Start or Desktop screen, open the Charms bar (press Windows Key + C from the keyboard), and click or tap Settings.
  2. Click or tap on the network icon.
  3. Right-click on your network connection, and click or tap on Turn sharing on or off. You should get a screen as shown below.

  4. Click or tap No, don't turn on sharing or connect to devices if you want to set the network location type to public. For home or work networks, click or tap on Yes, turn on sharing and connect to devices.


  • A domain network location is used for domain networks and is controlled by your network administrator. The network sharing settings in not available on domain networks.
  • If you know you are not going to do file and printer sharing, the safest choice is pubic network.
  • For PCs running Windows 8.1, turn on or off Find devices and content. For more details, please see: Find PCs, devices, and content on your network

Last Modified: 2015-08-14.